Tips for health and happiness as we grow old

38. My personal Atonement

05/02/106

I’ve done many condemnable things in the past. I was deeply self-centred and selfish. I was thoughtless, careless and ruthless. I made many people suffer from my actions and perhaps with my thoughts.

I spent many years punishing myself, consciously and unconsciously. I made myself suffer, probably more that I had made anyone else suffer before.

One day, helped by many wise masters that I had the instinctive wisdom of surrounding myself with, I realized that, paraphrasing Robert Holden, http://www.robertholden.org/
It is because the world is so full of suffering

that my happiness is a daily duty.

It is because the world is so unfriendly that my smile and as much kindness as I can muster, are a duty.

It is because the world is so full of war

that my peace of mind is a gift

It is because the world is in such despair

that my hope and optimism are a duty to my children and all my fellow human beings.
That is my daily atonement.

http://www.amazon.co.uk/P.-E.-Cuberos/e/B00UNCGYFA

 

Leave a Reply

